One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Rating: ★★½

I wrote this review today, so this will be the first review I post.

Book’s GR Page

Read: 8/11/2014

File this under Everyone loved it but me and Unpopular opinion.

I really didn’t like this book. I’ve wanted to read this for years, I heard how ground-breaking/awesome this book was.

I didn’t find it that good at all. The writing was juvenile (he was no George Orwell), and the characters were racist and sexist.

I can see why people like this book and the message of treating the mentally ill better. I get that and I think the mentally ill have been treated terribly through-out history. I also have a mental illness, so that goes without saying.

I understand this book was written decades ago, but instead of coming off vintage and pulpy to me, it was grating to me. Blah.

I wish I never read this book, simply because I wanted to enjoy this, and I didn’t.

Leave a Reply

